Value in an Android app

Source: swordsharpeners.blogspot.com via Katy on Pinterest

As I have mentioned before, I am wonderful at coming up with ideas–things that sound fun, helpful, or generally wonderful–but I am terrible at follow through.  This is an on-going struggle for me and has been for years.

Last July, an optimistic me bought a new planner.  It had everything I could possibly want–a month at a glance, space for appointments, daily to-do’s, menu planning, budgeting, Christmas event & gift planning, inspirational quotes, and even a built-in Bible reading plan.  I knew that this was the best planner ever for my needs!!  I kept up with a lot of it for quite a while.  Eventually, other menu planning methods were revived, the to-do list space wasn’t big enough, and my DH and I couldn’t seem to get our act together and spend our precious little alone time building a real, solid, specific budget.  However, I kept plugging away at the daily scriptures, even journaling what I was learning.

Then, September finally arrived.  Tank’s school year was in full swing and I, by default, officially became his homeroom parent.  BSF started up, as well.  As a children’s leader for the first time, I discovered what additional preparation, besides my personal lesson, was necessary each week.  Yet, I held on to the daily scripture reading laid out in my planner.  Sometimes, I did several days at a time, but I kept up.  Until October.  Then, nothing.  I think the planner itself actually disappeared for a while.  Not that I noticed much.

Fast forward to January.  In an effort to finish what I started way back when, I began using the YouVersion app on my phone while I’m doing quiet-ish housework to listen to and catch up on all the daily scripture readings that I have missed.  Going back to October.  It’s a lot.

As I was folding laundry this morning, one of the passages I was catching up on was 2 Corinthians 5.  My focus word for 2012–RENEW–and what to do with it had already been rolling around in my head this morning.  So, when I heard 2 Corinthians 5:16-17, it caught my attention.

 “16 So we have stopped evaluating others from a human point of view. At one time we thought of Christ merely from a human point of view. How differently we know him now! 17 This means that anyone who belongs to Christ has become a new person. The old life is gone; a new life has begun!” (NLT)

I especially noticed verse sixteen’s point about evaluating others from the world’s point of view, instead of from an eternal perspective.  It stuck out for me, not just in the way I interact with and size up others, but in the way I value myself.  I am valuable in Christ and, often don’t feel or act like it.  That’s the old me.

I want to be the new me that God has created.  Little by little, the old me is sloughing away.  New habits and thoughts are forming.  God is renewing me.

Do you have word you are focusing on during 2012??

Linking up with One Word Wednesday and Living Well Wednesdays.

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

