Book lust

So, once again my blog browsing has resulted in a great idea for a post.  Nothing long and wordy.  Here are, in no particular order, the top ten books I want to read (or finish reading) in 2012:

One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are by Ann Voskamp

Made to Crave: Satisfying Your Deepest Desire with God, Not Food by Lysa TerKeurst

Little House on the Freeway: Help for the Hurried Home by Tim Kimmel

PrayerWalk: Becoming a Woman of Prayer, Strength, and Discipline by Janet Holm McHenry

The Ministry of Motherhood: Following Christ’s Example in Reaching the Hearts of Our Children by Sally Clarkson

Whole: An Honest Look at the Holes in Your Life – and How to Let God Fill Them by Lisa Whittle

Praise Habit: Finding God in Sunsets and Sushi by David Crowder

True to His Word: The Story of Bible Study Fellowship by Gregg Lewis

Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World: Finding Intimacy With God in the Busyness of Life by Joanna Weaver

Captivating: Unveiling the Mystery of a Woman’s Soul by John Eldredge

Now, time for some audience participation!!!  I would love to hear your answers (in the comments section) to the following questions:

What is your favorite book of all time?

What book(s) would you like to read this year?

 Top Ten {Tuesday}

Happy Go Lucky

7 thoughts on “Book lust

  1. Perhaps I am a little fickle because I am totally enamored with whatever book I happen to be reading at the time, enamored so much that I cannot put it down until finished then I am so much wanting the sequel! Years ago I was reading the Left Behind series and would read a book a night then be panting for the next one to come out. lol

    In order to curb the compulsion I now read self help or reference books. I love The Green Pharmacy by James Duke PhD. & The 5 Love Languages. I have also started a blog where I am reading the Bible one chapter at a time but am sadly behind.

    Like

  2. Hi Kate ~~ My favorite book of all time is the Bible. Next that I really enjoyed reading is ‘Traveling with the innocents abroad, Mark Twain’s original reports from Europe and the Holy Land.’

    I just finished reading Bill O’Reilly’s book ‘Killing Lincoln.’which might be my book of 2012. Actually I intend also to read some more of Leslie Meier’s murder mystery books. I started with the latest and am back to her 2001 book next (she writes one a year). Others as they appeal I might read. Or listen to some on tape/CD. 🙂
    ..

    Like

  3. Favorite all time book, that’s a hard one. Probably the classics like Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre.

    I receive a lot of books from publishers for reviews so it depends on whats available and what strikes my fancy. So far my list for the year includes mysteries, paranormal fiction and a cookbook.

    Like

  4. I’m not sure I can have a favorite book. If so it would be one from my childhood. I can remember the story but not the title. really bums.

    I want to read The Help. and The Stoning of Soraya M.

    Aloha 🙂

    Like

  5. I love the idea of the book “snakes in suits”, however, I was disappointed that the author didn’t speak more of the nitty gritty of the corporate world. He focuses more on some of the characteristics and it is more of a psychology book than it was a business book.
    Other that that book, I haven’t read one recently. I like to find one about how to be a perfect wife or perfect husband, do you know of a book like that you can recommend?
    Thanks for posting your questions today.

    Like

    • I don’t know that anybody is ever going to manage to be the “perfect” anything. Not that we should stop trying…

      From one of my many lists of “eventually” books, I have a couple of books by Gary Thomas about marriage: Sacred Marriage–What if God Designed Marriage to Make Us Holy More Than to Make Us Happy? and Sacred Influence–What A Man Needs From His Wife to be the Husband She Wants.

      I haven’t read either of them, but they both look like they have some valuable insight.

      Thanks!!!

      Like

  6. Bobbi says:

    I have high hopes of reading. But honestly, if I get a little scripture in each day it is a true triumph! Off of your list, One Thousand Gifts and Prayer Walk…yes please!

    I really enjoyed reading “The Green Mile.” How long ago was that? Well, it was when it was published as a novel series. I had to wait for the next book to be released to even read the book. It was around year 1997 (I think). I haven’t started and finished a whole book in….I’m going to say 5 years! OOh Patricia Cornwell used to be a fav.

    Like

Leave a Reply

