Menu Plan Monday :: October 5-11

mpm-chalkboard

I had grand plans and schemes for this month’s menu plans. Huge, I tell you! You see, I have a well-known secret — I am a Pinterest junkie. I love to sit and browse and pin and browse and pin… And I’ve become very likely to go searching there when I’m in need or desirous of a new recipe. However, this is in direct conflict with my beloved collection of cookbooks. So, I decided I would challenge myself to really use the cookbooks for the next few weeks. Now that the weather is turning cooler, I’m especially drawn to my Christmas idea books. So, my plan had been to limit myself to only those books for any new recipes. Tried and true family favorites will not be eliminated–I’m not trying to give myself a nervous breakdown, people!

Gooseberry Patch books

But, even as fantastic as my idea was, life happens. Last week didn’t go as planned and so there are menu items being carried over to this week. Also, The Roadie left on a work trip this morning. This means I will have to “adult” by myself with our three kids for about six days. To maintain sanity, I need simplicity–in both preparation and executing mealtime, which means choosing foods I know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that my kids will eat. The Roadie being gone also just generally means less food is necessary. If I’m not careful, I’ll have so many leftovers that things will spoil before they’re eaten. There are a couple of ideas up my sleeve from my beloved Christmas books for this week (maybe–low expectations, remember?), but really diving into this challenge will have to wait until next.

 

:: Monday ::

  • Cinnamon toast & yogurt (we didn’t have any bagels, as I hadn’t shopped yet)
  • PBJ, cheese cubes, grapes, bell pepper strips
  • Slow cooker chicken noodle soup (a family favorite and something I can reheat for lunches this week)

:: Tuesday ::

:: Wednesday ::

  • Waffles with blueberry syrup
  • Cheese quesadillas
  • One pot Cajun chicken Alfredo, broccoli (a carry-over from last week)

:: Thursday ::

  • Baked oatmeal
  • Chicken nuggets
  • Sloppy Joes, oven fries, veggie sticks (another carry-over)

:: Friday ::

  • Odds & ends
  • Leftovers
  • Frozen pizzas (not normal, but easier than messing with carry-out by myself), salad

:: Saturday ::

  • Eggs & toast
  • Burgers
  • Chicken–either grilled or in the slow cooker

:: Sunday ::

  • Cereal
  • {fill in the blank}
  • Pancakes & sausage

I’m linking up at orgjunkie.com for Menu Plan Monday.

Leave a Reply

